Test & Certificates

Effective December 6, 2011, all new candidates to the Quebec Skilled Worker program who wish to obtain points for their French proficiency must demonstrate this proficiency by enclosing with their immigration application the results of one of the following French evaluation tests: TEF, TEFAQ, TCF, TCFQ, DELF/DALF.
  1. DELF – DALF
  2. TCF (Test de Connaissance du Français)
  3. TEF (Test d’Evaluation de Français)


DELF (Diplôme d'Etudes en Langue Française) and DALF (Diplôme Approfondi de Langue Française) are official qualifications awarded by the French Ministry of Education to certify the competency of candidates from outside France in the French language. DELF and DALF are composed of 6 independent diplomas that correspond to the levels of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages.

A1 DELF A1 basic
B1 DELF B1 independent
C1 DALF C1 proficient

There is also a specially adapted version of the DELF diplomas for teenagers.

CEFRL DELF junior User
A1 DELF junior A1 basic
A2 DELF junior A2
B1 DELF junior B1 independent
B2 DELF junior B2

The examinations can be taken in 900 approved examination centres in 154 countries, including France. The DELF and DALF qualifications are consistent with:

  • international standards for test development (www.alte.org)
  • the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (www.coe.int)

The DELF and DALF qualifications are under the authority of the Commission Nationale du DELF et du DALF [National Commission for DELF and DALF] whose headquarters are at the CIEP. The 6 diplomas that make up DELF and DALF are completely independent. This means that candidates can register for the examination of their choice, according to their level. At each level, 4 skills are evaluated: listening, speaking, reading and writing.

For more information contact us and visit http://www.ciep.fr/en/delf-prim-delf-delf-junior-version-dalf-diplome-detudes-langue-francaise-diplome-approfondi-langue